I Swear I’ve Been Doing Work

My last few months of work have involved everything from being surrounded by goats to driving all over snowy, downtown Pittsburgh instead of spending my spring break at the beach. Getting up at ungodly hours and spending entire days outside in the cold has proven to be well worth it though as I’ve gotten to produce some awesome projects.

Read on for little summaries of what I’ve been working on, or scroll all the way to the bottom and just watch some videos!

The first, which I completed at the end of last semester, I worked on in collaboration with Jackie O’s Barrel Ridge Farm. I wanted to explore the topic of food consciousness as I have had a growing concern in realizing most people have no idea where the food they are purchasing and eating is coming from. I like to know exactly what I’m putting into my body, but that’s just me. What better source to discuss this idea with than a small, local farm providing food directly to local businesses and customers? The people and the goats I got to hang out with were pretty cool too.

The next project led myself and a few other students to Blue Rock Station in Philo, Oh. to what has been referred to as the “trash house.” This home is made entirely from trash and recycled building materials along with a lot of the other structures on the property. The husband and wife creators behind the property use their home as a way to educate others on the many steps you can take to live a more sustainable lifestyle, from simply changing the way you interact with the world around you to building the foundation of your house out of tires. Also, a few baby goats were born during the period of time we spent shooting this project so of course I was SO HAPPY.

Most recently I’ve been shooting for this year’s Soul of Athens production, a student-run multimedia piece put together each spring. This year’s mission is to explore what makes the region of Appalachia home and why people choose to stay here. Many people are unaware that this region runs from New York all the way down to Alabama, and our group decided to cover the WHOLE thing. I pitched the idea of exploring Pittsburgh, the region’s largest urban center, to discover not only why it became such an industrial hub, but also why many chose to remain there even after the city was thoroughly polluted and then abandoned by the industry. Sneak a peek at the intro (thanks for getting up at 4:30 in the morning for this one with me mom) and a little behind the scenes!

Keep checking out my website for my most up-to-date projects too: http://alexandriapolanoskyphoto.com

We Are What We Eat

Earthship

Introduction for Soul of Athens

One thought on “I Swear I’ve Been Doing Work

  1. I can certainly attest to your “I’ve been doing work” claim. Being lucky enough to tag along and experience your hard work first hand in a few instances and now having seen the end results of some of your early, long and sometimes exhausting hours of researching, shooting, editing and producing, I have a whole new understanding of the work you put into a project and am definitely impressed. And, I have to say, that the getting up at 4:30 in the morning to see the sun rising over the city of Pittsburgh was well worth it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

