Wait, now what?

Four years have come and gone, and I find myself standing outside of a packed up apartment I’ve called home for the last two of my years at Ohio University. Just a few weeks before, I was preparing to leave Athens behind for the last time; I was about to move on from this little town now so near and dear to my heart.ย 

Where in the world did four years of college, eight countries of traveling, countless nights spent without sleep but with wonderful friends, crazy adventures, too many nights out, two shitty dorm rooms, fourย internships, two roomies and a puppy, and so many bottles of wine go? Who knows, but I’ve been told life just picks up pace from here.

Luckily, just before graduation, I was given the opportunity to work with AmeriCorps here in Athens. Thank goodness I’ve been granted a little more time here and can eat Casa for at least a few more months. This place and its people have captured me more than any other place I’ve traveled, which is why for reasons beyond me at times, I kept buying that return ticket and making the drive back to Ohio, growing excited each time as I exited the highway to a view of South Green.

I am so incredibly thankful for my time here as a student. Though it came with loads of stress, lots of tears and an unhealthy amount of coffee, I learned so incredibly much. Of course our VisCom program is fantastic, but beyond that I met so many wonderful people here in Athens and all over the world. Thank you to all the people who have entered my life; you’ve each changed it bit by bit. As a good friend of mine said, “you always meet twice,” so I can’t wait to see you again.

Through all of this, I’ve come to learn what I am so passionate about along with visual storytelling: making sure every human gets the good food they deserve and understands why its so good. So now I being my “next” right where it started here in Athens.

 

2 thoughts on “Wait, now what?

  1. Alexandria, how wonderful that college could mean so much more to you than just tromping back and forth from class to class. The friends and experiences that you have enjoyed over the past four years will forever remain in your heart and in your mind.You have done a terrific job, and I am very proud of you for a job well done. Congratulations! Now it’s time for the next big step. Please keep me posted. I love you.

    Your cousin,
    Trish

    Like

Leave a Reply

